On Sunday 12 November, the Tractor of the year 2024 will experience its apotheosis in Room 3A of the Convention Center at the Hannover Messe. Here we will browse through the shortlist of participants for the grand final.

Which tractors have been shortlisted for Tractor of the year 2024?

Let’s start with the open field tractor. The Xerion 12.650 Terra Trac, equipped by the OM473, aka mtu 6R1500, a 16-litre capable of 653 hp (480 kW) at 1,900 rpm and 3,100 Nm at 1,300, could claim the title of Tractor of the year 2024. The transmission is the ZF Eccom 5.5. Let’s stay in Germany, Fendt side. His name is the 600 Vario and he is a pure captive tractor. Under the bonnet beats an AGCO Power. Mind you, it’s a first. We will tell you more about the Core 50 after the game is over. Just know that it is a 5-litre 4-cylinder (AxC 110 x 132 mm), 224 hp (164.7 kW) peak at 1,900, 950 Nm between 1,300 and 1,600 rpm. The transmission is the TA 150. Another member of the AGCO Group is the Valtra S416, powered by the tried-and-tested 84 LFTV-D5, 6-cylinder with an unusual 8.4-litre displacement, 425 hp (312.5 kW) at 1,950, 1,750 Nm at 1,500. AGCO ML 260 stepless transmission. An air of mystery surrounds the fourth candidate. Massey Ferguson has chosen Agritechnica for the new MF Flagship. In short, the family flagship. We will, of course, also update you on its features.

Best utility

Claas is also among the utility tractors, with the Axos 240, with the F36 from FPT Industrial. The compact from Turin has a rated power of 103 hp (75.7 kW) at 2,300 and 406 Nm at 1,500. Carraro T100Evo HD transmission. The 3.6-litre (AxC 102 x 110 mm) is a serious candidate for the gold medal, being also present on the second of the three candidates. The Argo Group is in fact present with the McCormick X5.120 P3-Drive, which is powered by the F36: the maximum power, this time, is 114 hp (83.8 kW), between 1,900 and 2,200 rpm, and 460 Nm at 1,300 rpm. The transmission of motion to the wheels is entrusted to the P3-Drive in the Italian headquarter. Solis closes the triad with the S90, which has dusted off the dear old litre single cylinder displacement with the in-house 4-cylinder (AxC 105×118 mm) set at 90 hp (66.2 kW) at 2,450 rpm and 375 Nm at 1,400.

Best of specialized

In the specialised category five are competing for the title. Antonio Carraro, fresh from his ‘parental’ agreement with Agritalia, was chosen for the Tony 11700 V. The Deutz Tcd2.9L4 HT, the Diesel of the year 2010, 2.9 litres (AxC 92×110 mm), 110 hp (80.9 kW) at 2,200 and 420 Nm at 1,600, takes the lead. Indian fascination for Farmtrac, with the 25 GHST, which relies on the first electric motor among the three application categories in the competition. Fendt is also ‘pulling the plug’, with the e100V Vario. Anchored in tradition is Landini, with the REX 4-120 GT RoboShift Dynamic. And Deutz’s 2.9-litre again, claiming 112 hp (82.3 kW) and 420 Nm. Finally, the Metrac H70. The original compact from Austrian Reform Werke, with hydrostatic drive and all-wheel steering system, chose the Perkins 404J-E22TA (AxC 84×100 mm), which delivers 75 hp (55.7 kW) at 2,600 and 270 Nm at 2,600.

Sustainable Toty

Under the heading of sustainability for Tractor of the year 2024 we find the Xerion from Claas, Farmtrac, a Fendt double, eVario and 600 Vario, and Valtra S416.


Related articles

Deutz honors three winners with the Greenfield Award

Deutz announced the winners of the first “Deutz Greenfield Award” at the renowned congress #neuland in Aachen. The award, which is aimed at students and young researchers, honours outstanding academic work on sustainable powertrain solutions in the off-highway sector.